tiWormwood Waters, 95 x 140 cm, oil on canvas

Wormwood Waters, 95 x 140 cm, oil on canvas

Echoes II, 30 x 40 cm, oil on canvas
Echoes II, 30 x 40 cm, oil on canvasWormwood Waters, 95 x 140 cm, oil on canvas


by Alvi Taher

Probably not everyone will think that Par Stromberg’s artworks are  the best, but in my view, I have never seen such stunning artworks before.

There is a neighborhood called The Lower East Side where many beautiful art galleries exist. I liked all of the art galleries and those art galleries contained a lot of different types of artworks. The names of the art galleries were Charles Bank Gallery, Lehmann Maupin Gallery, The Hole Gallery and LaMama Gallery. Amongst the many great art galleries in the Lower East Side, the one that most impressed me was Charles Bank Gallery.

My favorite artist from Charles Art Gallery was Par Stromberg because his artworks were most amazing out of all of the artists’ artworks I have seen. According to the official page of Charles Bank Gallery, “Through his work, Strömberg has embedded  a sense of escapism and yearning for unspoiled nature’, art critic Daniël Bertina explains, “the Swedish landscapes of Strömberg seem to be a homage to the old worlds and gods. Mystic and natural forces unfold in his work and contrast with our daily lives in which speed, technology and consumerism dominate.”

Par Stromberg painted very attractive and amazing artworks of different shades of weathers with different colorful designs. My most favorite artwork contained the dark weather of snow, trees, and ocean. The name of the artwork is Wormwood Waters. It shows beauty of the nature. There is a ocean in between the two sides of snow and actually from my point of view, the artwork looks like a snow land. The artwork is also kind of confusing me because I cannot feel anything except for the beauty of the nature whenever I look at this artwork and try to figure out what is going on there. I also liked another work of Par Stromberg called Echoes II, (30 x 40 cm, oil on canvas). This artwork portrays a girl who is alone and riding on the boat in the ocean. The weather is also dark in this artwork and the trees are surrounded by the ocean. I think, this artwork also gives the sign of being free because the girl is alone, riding the boat by herself and there is no one to bother her and she is capable of finding her own way through out her life.

Overall, the trip to The Lower East Side was amazing. I had a tremendous opportunity to learn more about arts and culture. I learned that Par Stromberg loves to paint the artworks of abstract weather. Even though Par Stromberg painted those artworks for a different purpose and with different ideas, however, I can describe his artworks from my own point of view. My ideas can be totally different than Par Stromberg’s about his artworks, after all everyone has a different perspective and opinion about  everything.