Frank Gehry, the man behind the so many architectural designs, is a well known for having created outstanding buildings such as  the Walt Disney concert hall, Guggenheim Museum Bilbao….so on. Although he has done other projects as the world hockey cup he has had his ups and downs like any other person would. He is ranked as one of the top choices according to Vanity Fair magazine 2010, they polled 52 of the world’s best-known architects and architectural critics, asking them to name the most significant works of architecture of the last 30 years. By an overwhelming margin they had placed Frank Gehry’s Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao at the top of the list.

LAC Building,Frank Gehry,2010

One of his architectural design projects was the IAC building located in 555 West 18th Street, which was by far one of the most outstanding pieces he has created for in a long while. I am lucky enough to live in NYC where mostly everything is located here. I was walking nearby Chelsea piers and  was rather astonished by the architect of the IAC building. Its beautiful curvy windows and design had me cross the street so I could admire it at a better view. I was speechless by how it looked inside and out but later on just considered it another amazing building located in NYC.

I was however still curious to find out whom did the building actually belong to. I was determined that it was another art gallery or studio because of the building design but was surprised that it actually was an internet company with more than 50 websites belonging to them. Although I didn’t have a chance to actually enter the building I did get a chance to see most of what is the interior of the building by their website.

 

By: Michelle Bello